Batalla de Agua (Water Battle)

When I joined the Peace Corps, I certainly had no ideas or expectations for what my living situation would be like, although I will admit my first thoughts went to a small  hut in a forest where I would have to walk long distances to find water to bathe, cook, etc. While I think I could have lived in such a situation, I am very fortunate to be living with a wonderful host family in a nice house that has running water, electricity, etc.

Now, even though we have running water, being an Environmental Volunteer, I don’t really like putting water (or really anything) to waste. However, one day, at the prompting of my host siblings, I made an exception. On that day, the third of December of 2015, I engaged my host siblings in an epic water balloon/water battle.

My poor siblings had no idea what they were getting themselves into, because the threat of imminent drenching awakened my immense competitive spirit, leading me to “borrow” the first water balloons that my host sister had made prior to lunch. Post-lunch, the fun began with my host-sister convincing my host-brother to join forces with her to take me down, only to have the tides turned against her when I convinced my brother to join forces with me instead for the promise of sweet, sweet, American candy (thanks Mom!). Promptly, with the help of my host-brother, my host-sister was drenched, and myself only slightly damp. When the balloon supply ran out, we switched to plastic cups and buckets.  Honestly, plastic cups and buckets are much more effective than water balloons.

My host-sister had taken control of the outdoor sink and plastic cup supply and the situation looked dire, but with the threat of drenching her with the dirty pig-water (which I never would have done), I gained control over the precious sink resource, which turned the tide of the battle in my favor. Subsequently, the battle was fairly one sided with my host-sister emerging from the encounter as wet as a melting snowman, and myself emerging only as wet as a Shamwow. When the battle was good and won, and I had claimed my victory for all to see, my host siblings decided they weren’t wet enough and willingly drenched themselves in water while I documented the entire occasion, shutter-shot style.

While I did feel bad about using so much water for no other purpose than fun, I think it was worth it.

MGB

Leave a Reply

